Chickpeas With Baby Spinach

People, it has been way too long, I have no excuses for my absence, just a lull. Mid-July into late and my brain has melted, my inspiration in the kitchen minimal and my desire to write about food almost at zero. I apologize to you and to myself, I like having the blog to keep my brain semi-active instead of only occupying it with playground activities and children’s books. I love spending time in the kitchen, trying out new dishes and returning to old favorites. The kitchen hasn’t been abandoned, I’ve stocked up on some photographs of new recipes, but it has been a while since I uploaded them on to my computer.

Chickpeas With Baby Spinach

from The New York Times

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds, lightly toasted and ground
  • Salt, preferably kosher salt, and freshly ground pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 (15-oz.) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup chicken or vegetable stock, or water
  • Cayenne to taste
  • 1 6-oz. bag baby spinach

Heat the olive oil in a large, heavy saucepan over medium heat and add the onion. Cook, stirring, until tender, about five minutes. Add the garlic, cumin, tomato paste and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Cook, stirring for one to two minutes, until fragrant and the tomato paste has turned a darker color. Add the chickpeas, the stock or water, and the cayenne, and bring to a simmer. Cover, reduce the heat, and simmer 10 minutes.

Stir in the spinach, a handful at a time, stirring until each addition of spinach wilts. Add salt to taste and simmer uncovered, stirring often, for five minutes. Add lots of freshly ground pepper, taste and adjust salt and cayenne, and serve.

Serve over couscous.

One Year Ago:  Flounder in Cartoccio & Torta Caprese

Two Years Ago: Boiled P-Nuts, Panzanella, Green Beans alla Napoletana, Chickpea and Vegetable Stew with Couscous & Pasta e Lenticchie

~ by italicious on July 27, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
