Blackbean, Pumpkin and Leek Soup

I know that I should be writing about Thanksgiving recipes and things to inspire fantastic sides and brilliant ways to bake or fry your turkey, but I am not that well organized and will not be cooking our Thanksgiving this year. For the first time in probably 7 or 8 years I will be going home for Thanksgiving and having my mother cook it for me. Lucky me. I plan on lending a hand in the kitchen, but have always had the experience of being kicked out of the kitchen by my mother and sister, we’ll see how it goes this year.

As for fall, I have really been enjoying all of the winter squashes that I’ve been finding at the market. This one was called a pie pumpkin or a sugar pumpkin and I used it to make a soup, though it ended up not being enough pumpkin and I had to buy a can of pumpkin purée at the last minute to make up for it. This recipe was inspired by a recipe that I found on my favorite cooking blog, Smitten Kitchen, I have been getting a lot of inspiration from the recipes that she posts lately. I have been wanting to try this one for a long time and finally had all of the ingredients at hand to stumble upon it once again!

Black Bean, Pumpkin & Leek Soup

  • Two 15.5 ounce cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 medium sized leeks, the white and light green part halved and thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 4 cups broth (I went with chicken broth)
  • 2 15.5 ounce can pumpkin puree (I roasted one pumpkin and used one can, take the short cut and use the canned stuffed, it works just as well)
  • a few springs of cilantro
  • 1/2 cup of green pumpkin seeds, lightly toasted
  • plain yogurt or sour cream for garnish

Coarsely puree beans in a food processor.

In a 6-quart heavy kettle cook leeks in butter over moderate heat, stirring, until leeks have softened and are beginning to brown. Stir in bean puree, broth, pumpkin, and cumin until combined and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, 25 minutes, or until thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.

Season the soup before serving, I read somewhere that you should salt beans after they have already been cooked through. Is that right? Maybe you need to salt them before they are cooked, pregnant brain, you help me not!

Serve soup garnished with yogurt, toasted green pumpkin seeds and cilantro.

One Year Ago: Roasted Cauliflower, Raisins and Anchovy Vinaigrette

~ by italicious on November 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “Blackbean, Pumpkin and Leek Soup”

  1. Thank you for noticing the fact that I left out one of the main ingredients! I just updated the post, 2 leeks.

  2. How many leeks?

Leave a Reply

 
